2003-10-21 - 4:25 p.m.

quickie

i have a lot to write about, but little time, so i am going to just tell you this quick story and then get back to work before i get caught slacking off.

a friend of mine just asked me if i was raised "christian" ... my parents were not religious, and they didn't plan on raising me with any kind of religious structure in my life. but then they took me when i was like four to see my grandmother out east and she was shocked and appalled that my cousins and i hadn't been baptized so she called a minister over and had us baptized right in my aunt's living room.

i have a picture of it, and i'm holding the certificate sitting with my cousins, who are smiling. 'Cept i have this big fat pouty bottom lip stuck out. it's one of my favourite pictures of myself as a kid.

An aside note to that story ... i had lost my birth certificate when i was 15, so when i went to get my drivers' licence [ which i still don't have ] the only acceptable ID i had was this baptismal certificate. so i go down to the DMV or whatever it's called in this frigid country and wait in line and get up to the front and the woman looks at my certificate, and hands it back to me and says it won't be acceptable and i look at it and sure enough, the minister had put down my wrong birth year and it said that i was only 15.

dang newfie ministers!

1 comments

go back - move ahead