2004-03-30 - 12:26 a.m.

bored. annoyed.

is there a more frustrating chore in this world than putting the cover on a duvet ...? i don't know if i am a complete moron or what, but for some reason the whole process of putting the cover back on my comforter dumbfounds me. i am sure it's high-larious to watch, thank god it's only violet sitting there looking bored and staring at me while i do it.

spike even tried to show me how to do it once, after watching me struggle with it for a half an hour when we used to live together. he'd be all "want some help with that" and me, being the stubborn ass that i am would be "NO! i can do it myself!!!" ... and then one day he just came and took over, showing me how to lay everything flat and to grab the corners and what-have-you ... the entire time giving me the squinty "jesus, this is like COMMON SENSE, you know?!!??" look he always gives me when i can't seem to do something that ... well ... pretty much everyone else in the world can do with no problems what-so-ever.

like paying your cell phone bill so that your phone doesn't get cut off.


my new job -- so far ... i mean, it's only two days in at this point -- seems pretty cool. the other designer that i am working with is nice, and listens to good music ( although she didn't seem to take any kind of liking to any of the music i brought in today. oh well. ) although she's going to be the death of me. when i worked at my other job, i took three smoke breaks a day, at three designated times. one at 11:30, one at 2p.m. and the last one at 4:30. at this new place, the designer is all "wanna go out for a smoke?" like EVERY HOUR ON THE HOUR. and i am caught between wanting to impress the boss with my "ever-so-diligent-working-habits" or trying not to offend/piss off the person who i am going to have to work side-by-side with for god knows how long. the boss doesn't seem to mind ... he is in and out of the office all the time, and i am sure he's used to the designer doing this. *shrug* ... who knows ...?

she's going away to england for two weeks at the end of this week, and i'll be on my own, taking over her work. at least at that point my lungs will get a little break.

2 comments

go back - move ahead