2005-01-07 - 12:46 p.m.

my snot is frozen

I love being a Canadian, i really do. the freedom! the open minds! free healthcare! diverse culture! but you know what ...?

It's FUCKING COLD OUT THERE!

our christmas was beautifully mild, each day being anywhere from 5 - 15 degrees (41 - 59 for yanks). It was green, which was kind of a bummer, but for my holidays the mild weather was great ... you could shop with only a light coat on, and i was generally "out and about" and it was fantastic.

first day back at work, it's freezing. and snowing. and windy. and generally nasty.

the temperature just keeps getting lower and lower this week, with today's temperature being about -12 degrees, with a wind chill that makes it feel more like -22 degrees (that's about -8 degrees for farenheit people! MINUS 8!!!!!! AAAAAAAAAAHHHHH!! ) so i've dressed in layers today, sweaters and shirts and knee socks and all that jazz. FORGET IT, i am not shaving my legs until it gets warmer (or until spike stays over next, whichever comes first) this weather SUCKS.

but there is an advantage to it. for instance, more time wasting at work! for example, this is what i have to do to go out for a smoke:

  • take off my "at work" shoes (sneakers) and put on my "outside" shoes ... this makes me feel vaguely like Mr. Rogers.
  • put on my scarf, which i am glad i made nice and long, 'cause i wrap it around my head like nine times.
  • put on my coat. zip up the zipper, then snap all the snaps up on the flap that covers the zipper. Wouldn't want any cold air sneaking in between those zipperteeth!
  • put on my hood, which is securely snug to my head on account of the many loops of scarf around it
  • put on my mittens
  • take off one mitten 'cause i keep forgetting i can't open the door with my mittens on (it's a round, slippery metal doorknob)

the entire process (including smoke) takes me about twenty minutes. by the time i'm done, i'm twenty minutes closer to 5:30! Wahooo!

here's to wasting time!

 

2 comments

go back - move ahead