2003-12-15 - 2:54 p.m.

cha cha

so today i spent my lunch hour knitting ... i am making a scarf for my mom for christmas with this crazy yarn from patons called "cha cha" which is fuzzy and furry and shiny and soft. spike calls it "muppet hair" yarn ... heheheh ... so when my mom gets it and asks about it i think i am going to tell her that the scarf was a joint effort by spike and i, he held down the muppets while i shaved them. think she'll fall for it ...?

i love knitting, and now i do it everywhere i go. this scarf has come out on the streetcar and the subway, and it's funny when people look at you knitting in public. this morning i got the strangest stares from all kinds of people. my friend rebecca [ who also knits ] agrees with me, that the looks and attention you get when you're knitting in public these days is half the fun. she said to me "but when people see me they say to themselves 'awww, what a nice looking young lady ... she'll make someone a good husband some day, what with all the knitting' and when people look at you [ meaning me ] knitting with your piercings and black eyeliner they think 'oh god ... she must be knitting for satan'"

i like that. once i get really crafty with all this crazy knittin' and i get all of my gal friends converted to the "dark side of knitting" [ i've got three potential victims already, and the list is growing!!! ] that our group will have to be called "knitting for satan" ... we'll have to knit ourselves eeeeevil little knitting bags and develop our "Sure, I May Be Knitting, But I'm Surly" looks.

muppet
this is the cha cha yarn i am using for my mom's scarf.
can you get more fun than that???

2 comments

go back - move ahead