-

the obligatory blackout story

okay so it looks like my computer might be working for the time being, so I thought that i would try to post the events of the past week ... this is going to be a long one ... i am warning you! hehehe i have been doing a lot of living lately, which is fantastic ... i am having a great time ...


thursday

when the power went out, i was sitting at my desk, working. at first i thought that i'd blown the breaker in the office, and i was the only one there, so i didn't know what to do about it. by the time one of my co-workers had called in to let me know that the power was out where he was -- at Queen and Bathurst -- i was pretty clued in that this wasn't just a local phenomenon. one of the good things about working in computers is that ... well ... no power pretty much means no work. i was sketching some storyboards for about an hour after the power went out, but figured out pretty quickly that it wasn't coming on any time soon, and left work.

the walk home was cool ... everyone was out on the streets, and in a fine mood. i just kind of strolled home, soaking it all in, how much the city had changed, how the sidewalks were just flooded with people. crossing the street was a bit of an issue, with crosswalks out and lights, and people on the road pretty much just thinking about getting their own asses home, but there were some good people out there willing to stop and let the pedestrians through.

at home, i pulled my rocking chair up to the window and grabbed my book and started reading, thinking that the blackout wasn't going to last that long -- in my mind I was like this is a big city! we can't go that long without power, right??? -- but two hours later i was starting to clue in that things were a little more dramatic than i'd originally had thought.

my cell phone was out for the count. not only was it on it's last legs of charge before the power went out, but i couldn't make any out-going calls. it would ring, and i could get the call display number, but when i'd answer it there would be nothing but silence. while i could, i jotted down all the phone numbers of my close friends and family and shut it off to conserve battery in case of emergency, and jumped onto my land line and started dialing.

called corona, who was on her way with scabby to the airport to go to england that night -- as you can imagine, that didn't happen -- and my mom, my grandmother, and other friends. everyone that i could get a hold of seemed to be doing all right, which was good. i, on the other hand, was getting antsy. the sun was starting to go down, and i was alone. i started to kind of freak out. i had to find someone to spend the evening with. my night vision isn't the greatest, so i knew i wasn't going to be able to see the pages of my book for very much longer, candles or no candles.

after getting in touch with rocketbride, who was in brampton, she referred me to her friend scott, who, unfortunately, lives up on the other end of the city from me. he kindly offered to bike down and hang out with me, but this was after my mother had offered to try and come and pick me up. i turned him down, and opted to spend the evening in the safe, comfyness of my mom's apartment.

this, unfortunately, was not in the cards. after walking down ten flights of stairs to her underground garage, and discovering that somehow after she'd gotten in there the doors had shut and weren't opening any time soon, and then trekking BACK up ten fl

0 comments

go back - move ahead