2003-07-07 - 7:58 a.m.

amourous shower curtain and heels of steel

i love my shower curtain and my shower curtain loves me does anyone know how to keep your shower curtain from billowing up and attacking you while you're showering ...? seriously ... this is driving me crazy ... i am shaving my legs in the shower this morning and with one hand i'm holding the razor, and with the other hand i'm fighting off the curtain, which is trying to wrap itself around me in some kind of wet, plastic embrace.

it even has those little magnets on the bottom, but they're just no good.

sorry, shower curtain. i just want to be friends.

...

last night after work, i decided to grab some groceries and little things that i've needed around the apartment since i've moved in (a week ago). it never ceases to surprise and amaze me how much i take certain things for granted, things that i have always seemed to have around the house until now, when i've had to start over.

nail clippers, for instance.

i looked *everywhere* for a pair, and ended up with storekeepers offering me "baby sized" clippers, and "souvenier" clippers that were round, too small, crooked, and imprinted with a Canadian flag.

:: "hey kids! just got back from my trip to Canada! gather around! i bought some souveniers! here's your nail clippers!"

... rrrrrrrrrrrriggghhht ...

after finally tracking some down, i *then* went on a hunt for something i've been dreading buying ...

it's an item that my suddenly needing has confirmed to me that i actually *am* getting older and that more and more every day i am turning into my mom.

a pumice stone.

yup ... that's right. i had been suffering from nasty, scaly heels.

for those of you with soft, supple heels who haven't had to worry about this problem, and don't know what the hell i am talking about, a pumice stone is a rough hunk of pourous stone that you use to scrape all the dead skin off your feet.

sexy.

mine were getting so bad, that if i moved in the night while sleeping, you could hear my heels catching on the sheets.

dead sexy.

but now, after buying my very own "pumice brand" (REGISTERED TRADEMARK OF THE PUMICE CORPORATION) i now have smooth, supple heels.

and you thought *you* had big things to worry about.

4 comments

go back - move ahead